Darley Awards to be supported by HH Sh Mansoor bin Zayed Al Nahyan Global Arabian Flat Racing Festival

Download PDF

ARC News Release

July  6, 2011, Tennessee, USA ~ The Stewards of the Arabian Racing Cup are pleased to announce their partnership with the HH Sh Mansoor bin Zayed Al Nahyan Global Arabian Flat Racing Festival honoring the 25th Silver Anniversary of the prestigious ARC Darley Awards. First held in 1987, the “Oscar’s of Arabian Racing” recognize the most outstanding US racehorses, breeders, owners, trainers, and jockeys of the Arabian community. The Darley Award ceremonies present an opportunity for those involved in US Arabian racing to celebrate its virtues and award its best. “The Darley Committee selects the nominees and a Voting Academy decides the winners,” said Dr. Ted Wright, Arabian Racing Cup Chief Steward. “The Voting Academy is made up of knowledgeable individuals as well as regional racing organizations and publications within the US Arabian racing community.”

The 2011 Darley Award categories are: Three-year-old Filly; Three-year-old Colt, Four-year-old Filly, Four-year-old Colt, Older Mare, Older Horse, Breeder, Owner, Jockey, and Trainer, and the coveted Horse of the Year title. For the first time, the 2012 event ceremony will present the Her Highness Shaikha Fatma Bint Mubarak Darley Award for Outstanding Woman in Arabian Racing. HH Shaikha Fatma Bint Mubarak is a leading proponent of the women’s movement in the UAE and an advocate of women’s leadership worldwide.

President of the Arabian Jockey Club, Kathy Smoke, said she was elated with the support from Sheikh Mansoor Bin Zayed Al Nahyan Global Arabian Flat Racing Festival. “This will go a great way in boosting Arabian Racing in the US and will ensure progress and growth in various parts of the country,” she said.

“The support of the worldwide Arabian Global Festival will only enhance the International aspect of Arabian racing for America,” adds Denise Gault, ARC Board Steward member.

The Arabian Racing Cup is an Arabian breeders incentive program founded over 30 years ago, and is made up of seven Board Stewards. The 2010 Horse of the Year Darley Award went to Sand Witchh, a 2006 mare by Burning Sand and out of the mare, Tornade Du Loup. Details of the 2011 Darley Awards event weekend, to be held March 2012 in Houston, Texas, will be forthcoming.


Please follow and like us: