2017 UAE Race Season to Hold 62 Meets

The ERA season opened at Jebel Ali Racecourse on Friday, 28 October 2016



21 November 2016, UAE ~ The fixture list for the 2016-17 UAE racing season as approved by His Highness Sheikh Mansour Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Deputy Prime Minister of the UAE, Minister of Presidential Affairs and Chairman of the Emirates Racing Authority (ERA), has begun.

A total of 62 race meetings, held across five race tracks in the UAE, are planned for the highly competitive and exciting 2016-17 racing season.

The November action turned to the Sharjah Racecourse on 29 October and on to Meydan Racecourse on Thursday, 3 November, for their first race date of the season. Abu Dhabi Racecourse began its season on Sunday, 6 November, while Al Ain Racecourse hosted its first meeting on Friday, 18 November.

In a change to the 2015-16 season schedule, the Dubai World Cup Carnival double-header will move from the first weekend in March to Thursday, 9 February and Saturday, 11 February, with Super Saturday, the official prep for the Dubai World Cup, taking place on 4 March.

The UAE racing season will include 10 meetings at Al Ain Racecourse, 15 at Abu Dhabi Racecourse, 11 at Jebel Ali Racecourse, six at Sharjah Racecourse and 20 at Meydan Racecourse.

Each of the five ERA racecourses will stage a signature day of racing with Abu Dhabi Racecourse offering the world’s richest Purebred Arabian contest, The Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan Jewel Crown. Al Ain Racecourse offers the Al Ain Mile for Purebred Arabian horses contested on dirt. The Ruler of Sharjah serves as Sharjah Racecourse’s signature event while Jebel Ali offers the Group 3 Jebel Ali Mile and the Listed Stakes and Sprint. The UAE’s racing season ends with the internationally acclaimed Dubai World Cup, held at Meydan Racecourse on Saturday, 25 March 2017.

~ end