Sahib Du Clos comes up Aces at Meydan

January 12, 2012~Dubai’s Meydan began the January 12 card with the opening round of the 1600m Purebred Al Maktoum Challenge R1, a Group 1 race on their All-weather track.  The field held some of the elite of Arabian racing of the region, sans the now retired, No Risk Al Maury, winner of this edition the past two seasons.

Winner, Sahib Du Clos, 1600m winning USD $33,000 

time: 01:49:06 – trainer, Saifaldin Deeb, jockey, Royston Ffrench, owner, Al Falah Stable

Fryvolous, who finished second to No Risk Al Maury in 2011, took the field early and the horses ran three abreast with Paris Gagner out fast on the rail. Sahib Du Clos was third last.

Kandar Du Falgas, running outside crossed to settle on the rail along the backstretch, Saher and Theoretically, both in front early, soon gave up the field. Towards home when it looked as if Kandar Du Falgas, ridden by Richard Hills, would keep his lead, Sahib Du Clos, who was five lengths back on the outside, put on the after- burners with jockey, Royston Ffench riding hard. He had a fight in the home stretch but came by bounds on the outside and caught the Doug Watson-trained, Kandar Du Flagas in the final 100m, pushing to the front right on the line. The final tab was Sahib Du Clos (Kerbella (FR) – Isis Du Clos (FR) by Djourman (FR)– by a head over Kandar Du Falgas, third Albar Lotois, Dariya and Fryvolous, Paris Gagner, AF Alghabra, Saher, Theoretically, Omayyade Thabet, Samira De Carrere, Antar Vege.

 Meydan Results: Race 1 18:30 Al Maktoum Challenge R1 Sponsored By Etisalat


Pos Dist Horse Trainer Jockey
1st Sahib Du Clos (FR) S Deeb Royston Ffrench
2rd Hd Kandar Du Falgas (FR) D Watson Richard Hills
3rd 0.25 Albar Lotois (FR) E Lemartinel Olivier Peslier
4th 1 Dariya (FR) S Deeb Ted Durcan
5th 0.25 Fryvolous (FR) E Oertel Mirco Demuro
6th 0.25 Paris Gagner (FR) D Watson Tadhg O’Shea
7th 0.25 Af Alghabra (AE) G Duffield Richard Mullen
8th 8 Saher (FR) M Al Jahouri Ahmad Ajtebi
9th 0.5 Theoretically (US) J Peromingo Wayne Smith
10th Sh Omayyade Thabet (FR) A Al Shamsi Carlos Sanchez
11th 4 Samira De Carrere (FR) M Al Shamsi Jesus Rosales
12th Dist Antar Vege (FR) G Duffield William Buick


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.