Arabian Racing Cup Announces Darley Awards 2013


   December 1, 2012, Monterey, California, USA ~ The Board of Stewards of the Arabian Racing Cup is pleased to announce the date for the HH Sheikh Mansoor Bin Zayed Al Nahyan Global Arabian Flat Racing Festival Darley Awards and the HH Sheikha Fatima Bint Mubarak Darley Awards to be held March 8, 2013, at the  JW Marriott Hotel in Houston, Texas.

First held in 1987, this prestigious event recognizes the most outstanding US Arabian racehorses, breeders, owners, trainers, and jockeys of the preceding racing season.

“The HH Sheikh Mansoor Bin Zayed Al Nahyan Global Arabian Flat Racing Festival Darley Awards ceremony presents an opportunity for those involved in Arabian racing to celebrate its virtues and award its best,” said Denise Gault, Arabian Racing Cup Chief Steward. “The Voting Academy is made up of the eight ARC Board of Stewards in addition to knowledgeable individuals from the Arabian Jockey Club, regional and state organizations as well as prominent publications within the US Arabian racing community.”

The award categories are: Three-year-old Filly; Three-year-old Colt, Four-year-old Filly, Four-year-old Colt, Older Mare, Older Horse, Breeder, Owner, Jockey, and Trainer, and the coveted Horse of the Year title.

In addition, the evening will include for the second year the H.H. Sheikha Fatima Bint Mubarak Darley Awards for outstanding women in international Arabian racing. Nominations for the five categories of Owner, Breeder, Trainer, Jockey, and Lifetime Achievement plus a special award for Best Mare, are submitted by the 24 member nations of the International Federation of Arabian Horse Racing (IFAHR) and voted on by panel of 11 international judges. HH Sheikha Fatima Bint Mubarak is a leading proponent of the women’s movement in the UAE and an advocate of women’s leadership worldwide.

Founded over 30 years ago to encourage, promote, and reward the breeding of Arabian racehorses, the Arabian Racing Cup is governed by a Board of Stewards, comprised of Denise Gault of California (Chief Steward), Dr. Ted Wright of Tennessee (Treasurer), Dianne Waldron of Florida (Secretary), Michelle Morgan of Texas, Deborah Mihaloff of Virginia, Nancy Blewett of Texas, Sue Meyer of North Carolina, and Sam Vasquez of Texas.

The panel of11 International judges are:  Mubarak Al Muhairi (UAE), Noora Al Suwaidi (UAE), Essam Abdulla (UAE), Lara Sawaya (UAE), Denise Gault (USA), Richard Lancaster (UK), Sami Al Boueinen (Qatar), Dr Wadouda Badran (Egypt), Lulwa Al Awadi (Bahrain), Yves Plantin (France), and Abdelrazak Shawarzi (Oman).




Leave a Reply