Awards Announced for the Horserace Writers & Photographers Association Derby Award

December 4, 2013, London ~  The 47th annual Horserace Writers & Photographers Association Derby Awards were held on Monday, 2 December, in London. The Awards are  supported by the Qatar Racing & Equestrian Club (QREC). The award for Owner of the Year in which nominees included Middelham Park Racing, J.P. McManus and The Not Afraid Partnership, was won by Treve’s owner H.E. Sheikh Joaan Bin Hamad Al Thani and received on his behalf by QREC Chairman, H.E. Sheikh Mohamed Bin Faleh Al Thani.

The event was held in the presence of H.E. Sheikh Mohamed Bin Faleh Al Thani, Chairman of the Qatar Racing and Equestrian Club who presented awards for leading jockey and trainer which were won by A.P. McCoy and Richard Hannon respectively.

The President’s Award went to broadcaster Derek Thompson, while the International Trainer of the Year, sponsored by the International Racing Bureau, was Newmarket-based Ed Dunlop, gaining the award for a second time.

2013 Derby Awards:

Owner of the Year – HE Sheikh Joaan Bin Hamad Al Thani

International Trainer of the Year – Ed Dunlop

Picture of the Year – Julian Herbert

John Oaksey Trophy for Racing Reporter of the Year – Jon Lees

George Ennor Trophy for Outstanding Achievement – Jack Berry

Jockey of the Year – A P McCoy

President’s Award – Derek Thompson

Trainer of the Year – Richard Hannon

Peter O’Sullevan Trophy for Broadcaster of the Year – Nick Luck

Photographer of the Year – Alan Crowhurst

Clive Graham Trophy for Racing Writer of the Year – Chris McGrath


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.