Britain Has Left The European Union

Britain severs EU ties after nearly half a century

31 January 2020, UK ~ Britain has left the European Union after almost 50 years. There will be twelve months of transition and the British Horseracing Authority has assured that Post-Brexit the movement of Thoroughbreds and people will operate as it has been until the end of 2020. The United Kingdom joined the European Communities on 1 January 1973 along with Denmark and the Republic of Ireland. The EC would later become the European Union.

The British Thoroughbred Racing Association has been preparing for this position for many months. The racing sport’s governing body has reassured the industry that the Tripartite Agreement, which covers the UK, France and Ireland, will continue throughout 2020 after Britain leaves the EU on 31 January 2020.

The United Kingdom (UK) and European Union (EU) have agreed – and ratified – a formal Withdrawal Agreement under which the UK leaves the EU at 11pm GMT on Friday, 31 January. The UK then enters a ‘Transition Period’ to 31 December 2020, during which the future economic, trading and security partnership with the EU will be negotiated.

In this period, there will be limited change but participants are encouraged to read the guidance through the link below. At the end of 2020, a range of possible outcome remain, including a potential ‘No Deal’ where no formal trading relationship has been agreed.

January 2020, the Thoroughbred Industries Brexit Steering Group published a Position Statement outlining its objectives for the second phase of Brexit negotiations. Link to more information: