Dubai’s Al Mehairi wins 160km President’s Cup Endurance Ride

Final Rush Overtakes Leader Al Jahoori

Al Mehairi and Shaddad

Al Mehairi and Shaddad

11 February 2016, Abu Dhabi, UAE ~ Saeed Mohammed Khalifa Al Mehairi riding 13-year-old bay gelding Shaddad scripted a great win over young Khalifa Ali Khalfan Al Jahoori on 8 Minute to win the prestigious HH The President of the UAE Endurance Cup, held on Saturday, 11 February 2017, at the Emirates International Endurance Village, Al Wathba, Abu Dhabi.

The UAE riders dominated as they finished with eight of the top ten places in the ride which began at 6:30 am with 205 international riders.

Khalifa Al Jahoori on 8 Minute

Khalifa Al Jahoori on 8 Minute

Al Mehairi riding the 13-year-old Anglo Arabian, Shaddad hailing from the popular MRM Stables, worked his way into the leaders pack after starting from 28th position in the first loop.

Even as the young Khalifa Ali Khalfan Al Jahoori on the 11-year-old mare 8 Minute had remained in the top 3 riders from the first loop, and then led the pack in the third, fourth and fifth loops, his mare could not withstand the late challenge of Shaddad.

HH Sheikh Mansoor in green

HH Sheikh Mansoor bin Zayed Al Nahayn in green

Shaddad kept a steady pace of just over 25 kph for most of the ride and joined up with 8 Minute by the last of loop 5. The duo completed the 160-km ride in 6 hours 20 minutes and 51 seconds with 8 Minutes finishing less than three minutes behind the winner, with third place Suhail Al Ghailani on Khalifa on the line less than a minute later.

The ride was attended by HH Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President, Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai, HH Sheikh Hamdan Bin Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Dubai Crown Prince and His Highness Sheikh Mansoor Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, UAE Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Presidential Affairs, Sheikh Nasser bin Hamad Al Khalifa, Chairman of the Higher Council of Youth and Sports in Bahrain and Chairman of the Royal Equestrian Team and many other VIPs attended the prestigious ride.

Commenting on the win of MRM Stables, HH Sheikh Mohammed who had followed the riders closely said “I’m happy with the win because everybody will feel happy (Namoos for all). I had told the rider to ride patiently and he has done just that and he paced his horse accordingly. He followed the instructions and the horse picked up nicely.

Sheikh Mohammed also praised the effort of the runner-up Khalifa Ali Khalfan Al Jahouri and the good form of his horse.

Awards of 10 cars

Awards of 10 cars

The race was tough and the riders fought fiercely. It was a real competition,” he added.
UAE lady rider Shathra Al Hajjaj on J Star finished 7th and all the top ten riders were awarded posh cars for their winning efforts.

Dr Ghanem Al Hajeri, Secretary General of the Emirates Equestrian Federation, Mubarak Al Nuaimi-Abu Dhabi Tourism Authority, Khaled Hussain, General Authority of Youth and Sports Welfare, Najla Nasser from National Feed and Flour, Dr. Stefano Daneri, Ahmed Al Qubaisi from Abu Dhabi Sports Council, Ahmed Saeed from Abu Dhabi Judiciary Department, Humayun Alam from Al Masoud Automobiles and Ms Lara Sawaya, Executive Director of the HH Sheikh Mansoor Bin Zayed Al Nahyan Global Arabian Horse Flat Racing Festival, Chairperson of the International Federation of Horse Racing Academies (IFHRA) and Chairperson of Ladies & Apprentice Racing Committees in the International Federation of Arabian Horse Racing Authorities (IFAHR)gave away the trophies and car keys to the top ten riders.

It was a great ride today and the presence of HH Sheikh Mohammed, HH Sheikh Hamdan and HH Sheikh Mansoor and other leaders have made this event a memorable one,” Ms Sawaya added.

The HH Sheikh Mansoor Bin Zayed Al Nahyan Global Arabian Horse Flat Racing Festival is sustained by the Abu Dhabi Tourism and Culture Authority and coordinated by Abu Dhabi Sports Council, with National Feed and Flour Production and Marketing Co. LLC as associate sponsors, The National Archives as the official partner and Emirates airline as the official carriers, in cooperation with Emirates Racing Authority, IFAHR, Emirates Arabian Horse Society, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, General Authority of Youth and Sports Welfare and sponsored by Al Aweer Stables, Ayadii LLC, Global United Veterinary Services LLC, Bloom, Petromal, Rise General Trading Co. LLC, Hayatna, Wathba Stallions, Abu Dhabi Falconers Club, Emirates Falconers Club, Mohamed Bin Zayed Falconry and Desert Physiognomy School, Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre (ADNEC), Al Awani General Enterprises, Kabale, Omeir Travels, Dr Nader Saab Switzerland, Laboratories Fadia Karam Cosmetics, YAS Channel, Racing Post, Paris Turf, Al Wathba Centre, the UAE’s General Women’s Union, The Supreme Council for Motherhood and Childhood, the HH Sheikha Fatima Bint Mubarak Ladies Sports Academy, Abu Dhabi International Hunting and Equestrian Exhibition 2017, Abu Dhabi Equestrian Club, Eastern Mangroves Suites-Abu Dhabi by Jannah, Anantara Eastern Mangroves Spa and Resort.

Results (top 10) in Saturday’s 160-km Three star HH The President of the UAE Cup Endurance ride:
1.Saeed Mohd Khalifa Al Mehairi-UAE-(SHADDAD) 06:20:51
2.Khalifa Ali Khalfan Al Jahoori-UAE-(8 MINUTE) 06:23:49
3.Suhail Ali Rashed Ali Al Ghailani-UAE-(KALIFA) 06:24:20
4.Ghanim Said Salim Ali Owaisi-UAE-FARAAN 06:24:24
5.Abdulla Rashid Mohd Saeed Al Naqbi-UAE-Thiyya Du Mortier 06:28:51
6.Salim Said Al Owais-UAE-PERPLEX DE VERE 06:36:29
7.Shathra Ahmed Murad Al Hajjaj-UAE-J Star 06:38:31
8.Sheikh Mohammed Bin Mubarak Al Khalifa -BRN-(Waterlea Dawn Treader) 06:49:51
9.Saeed Ahmad Saeed Al Khattal-UAE-(F A Bronz) 06:53:20
10.Sabrina Magali Mendiz-ARG-(Sapucay) 06:54:57.

~ end