HH Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed Al Maktoum wins HH Endurance Cup

International event attracts 227 riders representing 41 countries

thn-img19 January 2016, Dubai, UAE ~ The ninth renewal of the His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Endurance Cup 160km CEI *** presented by Longines on 9 January 2016, was won by HH Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed Al Maktoum riding Ajayeb from MRM Stables.

The win marked the second consecutive victory in the HH Endurance Cup for the Crown Prince, who became one of four riders to win the event twice. Abdulla Ghanim Al Marri, winner in 2012 & 2013, was denied his attempt to become the first rider to win the competition three times but caem in second on Quran El Ulm. MRM Stables secured three of the top four placements with finishes of first, third and fourth.

Held at the purpose-built Dubai International Endurance City and organized by the Dubai Equestrian Club, a member of the Meydan Group, the international event attracted one of the largest and most competitive fields in the history of the ride. A total of 227 riders representing 41 countries, began the ride at 7am. The 160km competition consisted of five loops in distances of 40, 35, 35, 32 and 18 kilometers.


Juan-Carlos Capelli of Longines presents award

Mohammed Essa Al Adhab, General Manager of the Dubai Equestrian Club stated his thanks: “I would like to express my greatest appreciation on behalf of the Dubai Equestrian Club to His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum for his generous support of endurance riding and this event. We also thank Saeed Al Tayer, Chairman of Meydan Group for his commitment to Dubai Equestrian Club.

“Each year the DEC works to improve and further grow this event. Our focus is not only on the sport here in the UAE but development around the world. More than 40 countries were represented this year and this is proof of Dubai’s commitment to endurance riding as an international sport.”

Other top competitors finishing in the top 15 were: Saeed Mohammed Khalifa Al Mehairi in third, Sheikh Hamed Dalmook Al Maktoum in sixth, Sheik Rashid Dalmook Al Maktoum, the winner in 2014 was seventh; and Sheikh Mohamed bin Mubarak Al Khalifa of Bahrain was 11th.

Past winners of the ride include: Omar Mubarak Al Baluchi, 2008 & 2011; Ali Khalfan Al Jahouri, 2009 & 2010; Abdullah Al Marri 2012 & 2013; Sheikh Rashid Bin Dalmouk Al Maktoum, 2014; and HH Sheikh Hamdan Bin Mohammed Al Maktoum, Crown Prince of Dubai in 2015.

Photo Caption to left: A victorious His Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed Al Maktoum carries the UAE flag as he finished the 160km HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Endurance Cup..
Photo Caption award: HH Sheikh Hamdan receives the winning trophy from Juan Carlos Capelli of Longines for his win in the 9th renewal of the HH Endurance Cup.

~end supplied report