Likely Fields for Dubai World Cup and Dubai Kahayla Classic

The first race will be the $1 million Dubai Kahayla Classic

DWC logo

Dubai World Cup

18 March 2020, Dubai, UAE ~ The historic 25th edition of the Dubai World Cup on 28 March 2020, at Meydan Racecourse will be composed of nine races—six Group 1s and three Group 2s—worth a world-leading $35 million.

The likely fields will include G1-winning luminaries as Benbatl, Chrysoberyl and Sir Winston in the $12 million Dubai World Cup sponsored by Emirates Airline (G1), the brilliant Ghaiyyath and Hong Kong Vase (G1) winner Glory Vase in the $6 million Longines Dubai Sheema Classic (G1), as well as $6 million Dubai Turf sponsored by DP World (G1) defending champion Almond Eye taking on the likes of Hong Kong Cup (G1) winner Win Bright and eye-catching Jebel Hatta (G1) victor Barney Roy.

Tallab Al Khalidiah, winner of Obaiya Arabian Cup, Riyadh, 29 February. Photo Pamela Burton

Tallab Al Khalidiah, winner of Obaiya Arabian Cup, Riyadh, 29 February.
Photo Pamela Burton

The world’s richest dirt sprint, the $2.5 million Dubai Golden Shaheen sponsored by Gulf News (G1) has attracted one of the top dirt sprinters in the world, Imperial Hint. The $2 million Al Quoz Sprint sponsored by Azizi Developments (G1) and $2.5 million UAE Derby sponsored by Emirates NBD (G2) will showcase runners from Japan, Europe, UAE and USA. The $1.5 million Dubai Gold Cup sponsored by Al Tayer Motors (G2) has attracted such superb stayers as Melbourne Cup (G1) winner Cross Counter and St Leger (G1) winner Kew Gardens, while the $1.5 million Godolphin Mile sponsored by Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum City—District One (G2) features a clash between dominant milers Capezzano and Salute the Soldier. The world’s richest race day kicks off with the $1 million Dubai Kahayla Classic sponsored by Mubadala (G1), which will be contested by some of the best Purebred Arabians in the world, including defending champion AF Maher and recent Saudi, Obaiya Arabian Cup winner, Tallab Al Khalidiah.

All post positions will be drawn in the Emirates Racing Authority (ERA) office at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, 23 March.