Pietrasiewicz and Phraseur Kosack Win Ladies’ Championship in Berlin

May 12, 2014, Berlin, Germany ~ Top Dutch lady jockey Jadey Pletrasiewicz partnered Phraseur Kosack to land the seventh round of the HH Sheikha Fatima bint Mubarak Ladies World Championship IFAHR at the Hoppegarten Racecourse on Sunday May 11.

Jadey  Pletrasiewicz wins on Phraseur Kosack

Jadey Pletrasiewicz wins on Phraseur Kosack

“It’s a race to remember,” said the 30-year-old jockey whose full-time job is home care nurse. “I knew the Japanese lady was favorite to win the race with Athlete del Sol, but I was confident that it was my turn to book a dream lineup in the grand final of the competition in Abu Dhabi next November.”

The race was held among high expectations that the Japanese professional jockey Mai Beppu would be hard to beat, but the run of the race came contrary to all speculation.

“I know the trainer Huub Otermans and she has told me that Phraseur Kosack is in his best form and would be suited with the soft footing following the rain showers which hit the venue in the afternoon.” Following her instructions to settle behind the early pace and put the horse on top gear at the home turn, the ending worked out perfectly. “My mount showed his stamina and stayed on very strongly to lead by four lengths close home,” said Pietrasiewicz.

Lady Jockeys

Lady Jockeys


Pietrasiewic and Otermans were the team last year that landed the Sheikh Zayed Cup ‘Listed’ at the same venue with Poulain Kossack.

Meanwhile, leading German jockey Eduardo Pedroza brought Valentin home in the Sheikh Zayed bin Sulytan Al Nahyan Listed Cup, the sixth event on the card.

Trained by JM Wolters at the Stall Lucky Stables in Holland, the five-year-old son of Amer was going well before the rider urged him in the straight where he prevailed by more than three lengths on the line.


Eduardo Pedroza and Valentin

Eduardo Pedroza and Valentin

Guests at the race included Jumaa Mubarak Al Junaibi, UAE ambassador to Germany, Shiekh Hamdan bin Suroor Al Sharqi, Monther Al-Eissa, Kuwaiti ambassador, Dr. Mohammed Hejazi, Egyptian ambassador, Dr. Mazen Tal, Jordanian ambassador, Dr. Hussain Alkhateeb, Iraqi ambassador, Mona Kamel, Head of Mission of the League of Arab States, Aden Mohammed, ambassador of Djibouti and the Libyan and Moroccan ambassadors.

Lara Sawaya, director of the HH Sheikh Mansoor bin Zayed Al Nahyan Global Arabian Horse Flat Racing Festival and chairman of the Ladies Racing Committee IFAHR said: “Under the directives of HH Sheikh Mansoor bin Zayed Al Nahyan, we are delighted to return to this beautiful venue which attracts a big crowd to its well-organized events. The races of the festival are growing bigger and bigger with every move. Last time, we have attracted new lady jockeys from South Korea and Morocco for the first time and now we have riders from Japan and Tunisia while plans are underway to have new lady jockey from India.”

Sawaya thanked the management of the Hoppegarten Racecourse noting that it’s one of the best venues around the globe to host the events of the festival which are receiving the respect and encouragement of the spectators.

Sh Zayed Award Photo

Sh Zayed Award Photo


The HH Sheikh Mansoor bin Zayed Al Nahyan Global Arabian Horse Flat Racing Festival is organized by the Abu Dhabi Tourism and Culture Authority and coordinated by Abu Dhabi Sports Council in association with Emirates Racing Authority, IFAHR and Emirates Arabian Horse Society, supported by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs , the General Authority of Youth and Sports Welfare with Arabtec Holding PJSC as the Official Partner and Emirates airline as the official carriers and sponsored by Invest AD, Tourism Development& amp; Investment Company (TDIC), Al Rashid Investment, Al Awani General Enterprises, Kabale, Al Wathba Centre, the UAE General Women Union, the HH Sheikha Fatima bint Mubarak Ladies Sports Academy, Abu Dhabi International Hunting and Equestrian Exhibition 2014, Dr. Nader Saab Switzerland, Al Wathba Center, Abu Dhabi Equestrian Club, Eastern Mangroves Suites-Abu Dhabi by Jannah, Abu Dhabi Sports Channel and Racing Post.


HH Sheikha Fatima Winners 2014

1 – Al Flaij, Oman: Irish lady jockey Evanna McCutcheon
2 – Caulfield, Australia: Alyson Deniel, UK
3 – St Moritz, Switzerland: Prod’Home Pauline, France
4 – Sam Houston Park, USA: Sandee D. Martin (USA).
5 – Casablanca-Anfa Racecourse, Morocco: Keumjoo Lee (South Korea)
6 – Toulouse Racecourse, France: Victoria Allers (Norway)
7 – Hoppegarten Racecourse, Germmany: Jadey Pletrasiewicz (Holland)

To Come ~

May 31 – Newbury, UK

June 06 – Stockholm, Sweden

June 22, Dundight, Netherlands

July 5, Pleasanton, California

August 18, Ostend, Belgium

August 24, Sluzeiwic, Poland

Grand Championship

November 9, Abu Dhabi


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.