Poulain Kossack wins at Berlin’s Hoppegarten

Fatima IFAHR LogoMay 6, 2013, Hoppegarten Racecourse, Berlin ~ Poulain Kossack successfully defended his 2012 win in the third round of the Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan Cup series (Listed) for Purebred Arabians while Omani lady jockey Salima Al Taleei partnered Mirabella del Solto glory in the fourth round of the HH Sheikha Fatima bint Mubarak Ladies World Championship IFAHR at the Hoppegarten Racecourse in Berlin, Germany on Sunday, May 5.

Poulain Kossack wins 2013 Sh Zayed race Hoppegarten Pamela Burton photo

Poulain Kossack wins 2012 Sh Zayed race Hoppegarten
Pamela Burton photo

Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan Cup (International Listed race),  four yrs. + Purebred Arabians WAHO registered, holding IFAHR accepted pedigree. Prize Money: €25,000 – 2,000 metres, right-handed course.

Defending champion Poulain Kossack (Nougatin x Pengalia Kossack), owned and trained by Huub Otermans and ridden by Josef Bojko, sprinted to a narrow victory over Ameretto, owned by Manuela Scharfenberg, trained by G. Richter, and ridden by M. Manueddu. Sartejano, under Filip Minarik came away with third-place honors during Sunday’s racing.

Finish 2-6 Horse, Sire, Jockey

    2. Ameretto, (Amer), M. Manueddu

    3.  Sartejano, (Dormane),Filip Minarik

4. Kazbek, (Benedick), Wladimir Panov

5. Speed Kossack, (Nougatin), Rene Piechulek

6. Fanal El Samawi, (Ainhoa St. Faust), E. Hardouin

Omani jockey based in Dubai, Salma Al Taleei, carried the Arab lady jockeys hopes to completion in the fourth round of the 1600m HH Sheikha Fatima bint Mubarak Ladies World Championship IFAHR, winning the €20,000 Championship on Mirabella del Sol (Kerbella x Mimi Miel). The winner prevailed by three-quarters of a length over Lillij Ann ridden by Turkey’s Duygu Fatura, finishing the mile distance in 1:49:80. Third in was Phraseur Kossack ridden by Christina Buesa of Spain.

“I’m truly delighted to make it a winning start in this outstanding event and let’s hope for the better in the future,” the jubilant winner said later. As winner, she will compete against the other 11 series winners in the Abu Dhabi   final in November.

The next Ladies Championship race is scheduled for May 18 at Newbury Racecourse, UK.

Finish 2-8: Horse, Sire, Jockey, Country

2. Lillij Ann, (Makfoul Du Breuil x Ludmillah), Duygu Fatura, Turkey

3. Phraseur Kossack, (Prince d’Orient x Pengalia Kossack), Christina Buesa, Spain

4. Serouda Du Breuil, (Dormane), Catherine Burri, Switzerland

5. Bachi Bouzouk, (Pepe le Mocco), Alice de Bortoli, Italy

6. Ghilali, (Dormane), Berit Weber, Germany

7. Kalibr, (Neron), Alexandra Bihari, Hungary

8. Malissia, (Al Sakbe), Sheila Ahern, Ireland


Lady Jockey Profiles: [gview file=”http://www.horsereporter.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Lady-riders-for-Berlin-Hoppegarten_Rider_Information.pdf” save=”1″]

Leave a Reply