Qatar Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe Weekend Promises Championship Racing

   October 5, 2012, Paris ~ Preparations are underway in Paris for the 91st edition of the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe, held under the sponsorship of the State of Qatar as Qatar Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe. In addition to the Qatar Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe for Thoroughbreds, Sunday promises a look at 20 champions of Arabian racing set to go head to head in the prestigious Qatar Arabian World Cup at 4:10 Paris time (€700,000 prize money). The 2011 winner, Areej, owned by Sheikh Mohammed Bin Khalif al Thani, will try to reprise the magic with trainer Julian Smart, under the hands of S Pasquier, starting in stall 18.

An Arabian horse sale and racing will start off the weekend on Friday, 5 October at the Saint-Cloud Racecourse. On Saturday, racing will move to Longchamp Racecourse for the Saturday and Sunday Prix de l’Arc weekend.

The three-day racing carnival will feature Qatar Prix l’Arc de Triomphe, which is the richest turf race for Thoroughbred horses in the world with a total prize money of four million euros. While the 2011 winner of the Sunday Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe, the German mare Danedream, will not race this year, the favorites for the field of 18 are (GB) Camelot and the  2011 Japanese Triple Crown winner, Orfevre. Danedream was banned from travel from Germany due to a local quarantine for an outbreak of equine swamp fever.

Qatar Arabian World Cup Draw- Sunday October 7

Start     Horse                    No     Trainer                        Jockey     

1.  Asraa Min Albarq          13    J. Smart                      T P O’Shea

2.  Dahash                             17     A De Mieulle             P Convertino

3.  Raihan                               9     A De Mieulle             T Thulliez S

4.  Aziz Asf                            10     J Smart                      R Mullen

5.  Mu’azzaz                          20    J Smart                       K Fallon

6.  Rich Frynchman            18     Randy Nunley         Faleh Bughenaim

7.   TM Fred Texas               19    Ronald Martino        A De Vries

8.  Jaafer Asf                           8    J Smart                         D Holland

9.   Damis                                 6    Mme D Dorenberg  F Spanu

10. Kenanaco                          2     A Tekinalp                S Kaya

11   Sartejano                           1     Mme D Dorenberg  M Suerland

12,  Poulain Kossack           14     H Otermans           J Pietrasiewicz

13.  Ameretto                         16    G Richter                  M Manueddu

14.  Tabarak                            7     A De Mieulle           O Peslier

15.  Rathowan                       4     J Smart                      C P Lemaire

16.   Al Mamun Monlau     15   J Bernard                 C Soumillon

17.   Boum De Ghazal          11   J Bernard                 J Auge

18.   Areej                                5   J Smart                      S Pasquier

19.  Gharraa                           1   D De Watrigant       I Mendizabal

20.  Mkeefa                                     3   J Smart                      N Callan


Full PDF:Preview of “Racecard 16-10 Longchamp 



Leave a Reply