Seraphin Du Paon back on top in Abu Dhabi

January 8, 2012 Abu Dhabi~ Trainer Eric Lemartinel, always on the scoreboard of a racing evening, claimed excellent results Sunday at the Abu Dhabi Equestrian Club. His Burning Sand colt, AF Sanedek, won the 1600m maiden with Gerald Avranche up. Coming back in the fifth race, Avranche took the 2200m Al Wathba Cup Group One condition race on the six year-old, Nieshan, for Lemartinel. Nieshan, who won the 2011 Purebred Arabian Al Maktoum Challenge III but came second to Seraphin Du Paon in the Dubai Kahayla Classic, was in top form on Sunday. Avranche said of his ride, “We knew he was the one the others had to beat and luckily he has delivered the prize. He has not been at his absolute best so far this season and hopefully that will have done his confidence good and put him spot on for some of the upcoming big races.”

Number two race, the 1400m maiden, was won by Million for trainer Jaber Bittar with Carlos Sandoval in the saddle.

Al Asayl’s Ernst Oertel got his first win of the evening with Saaf when Christian Demuro clinched his start in the 1600m maiden.

In the fourth race, trainer Majid Al Jahouri impressed with a 1,2,3 in the Arabian Triple Crown, Round 1, for Sheikh Mansour Bin Zayed Al Nahyan with three Mahabb sons, Nasseem, Rakha, and Takhif in that order.

The main race of the evening was the 2200m Prep for the HH The President’s Cup – and it saw the return in style of  Seraphin Du Paon, winner in 2011 of both the HH The President’s Cup and the the Dubai Kahayla Classic at the March Dubai World Cup.  In his first start since his March win, Oertel was able to achieve  his double for the evening, having wisely chosen winning jockey, Mirco Demuro to pilot this runner. Demuro caught the leader on the home stretch and found his way home free with only 50 yards of turf to cover.


1. Al Reef, (PA Maiden), Dh30,000, 1,600metre 

Horse, Sire, Dam, Trainer, Jockey

1. AF Sanadek (Burning Sand (US) x Fauvette Al Maury (FR) by Djouras Tu (FR) -E. Lemartinel, Gerald Avranche

2. Mor’eb (Bibi De Carrere (FR) xMoej (US) by Calin De Louve (FR)-Mohammad Al Katbi, Pat Cosgrave

3. Shajaret Eddor Al Reef  (Scharly (FR) x Mahaba (AE) by Nez D’Or (FR) – Majid Al Jahouri, Jesus Rosales

Time: 1:47.06

2. Mafraq, (PA Conditions) Dh 35,000, 1,400metre 

1.Million (Bibi De Carrere (FR) – Millers Park Mardine (AU) by Sunnyhaven- Jaber Bittar, Carlos Sandovel

2.Shahryar (Scharly(FR) – Aliaa(FR) by Djelfor (FR)- Ernst Oertel, Cristian Demuro

3. A’Nnabak W’rsan (Tron Ku Tu (US) – Arrabelle (US) by Monarch AH (US)- Jaci Wickham, H. Bentley

Time: 1:33.20; Distances: 4.75L, Nos.

3. Al Khaznah, (PA Maiden)Dh 35,000, 1,600metre 

1. Seef (Darike (FR) xTaloomany(AE) by Bibi De Carrere (FR)- Ernst Oertel, Cristian Demuro

2. AF Jazlah (Burning Sand (US) x Voici Kossack(NL) by Bengali D’Albret- J. Peromingo, Wayne Smith

3. Taleek Al Inaan (Nez D’or (FR) x Inaad (AE) by Najib (MA)- Mohammad Al Katbi), P. Cosgrave

Time: 1:48.65

4.Arabian Triple Crown (Round 1),Dh 100,000 (PA Listed) 1600m 

1. Naseem (Mahabb (AE) -xAryaan (FR) by Kesberoy (FR)- Majid Al Jahouri, Royston Ffrench

2. Rakha (Mahabb (AE) -xShamayl (FR) by Kesberoy (FR)- Majid Al Jahouri, Tadhg O’Shea

3. Takhif (Mahabb (AE) x Sheena (FR) by Djelfor (FR) – Majid Al Jahouri,  Ahmad Ajtebi

Time: 1:45.73

5. Wathba Stud Farm Cup, Dh 40,000 (PA Conditions – For Private Owners Only) 2,200metre 

1.Nieshan (Akbar (FR) x Jade Des Pins (FR) by Octavius (FR)- E Lemartinel, Gerald Avranche

2. Ibn Battuta Monlau Dormane (FR) x Okapie Domenjoi (FR) by Tidjani (FR)-E Lemartinel, C. Demuro

3. Das Jalabi Bibi De Carrere (FR) x Jameela (FR) by Tidjani (FR), O. Mohammad,  Richard Mullen

Time: 2:32.29

6.HH The President Of The UAE Cup Prep race, Dh 80,000 (PA Conditions) 2200metre Turf

1. Seraphin Du Paon (Akbar (FR) x Bint El Bedia (TN) by Elias-Ernst Oertel, Mirco Demuro

2. Timadit Al Mels(Tidjani (FR) x Onia Al Mels (FR) by Guytou De Carrere (FR)- S. Rajhi, Royston Ffrench

3. Rakeel Tidjani (FR) x Ishem De L’Ardus (FR) by Djelfor (FR) – E. Lemartinel, G. Avranche

Time: 2:31.02

7. Al Jazir (TB Handicap) , Dh 75,000, 1,300metre

1. Celtic King (Musabbah Al Muhairi) Wayne Smith

2. Fityaan (Musabah Al Muhairi) Tadhg O’Shea

3. Expire (Ali Rashid Al Raihe) R. Ffrench

Time: 1:18.17; Distances: 1L, 0.75L.



Leave a Reply