Star-Studded Field for the Prix Carthage – Hannibal – HH Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan (Gr 2PA)

2014 winner, Sir Bani Yas, Djet Taouy, and Valentin are all starting in Friday’s 2000-metre turf contest with a prize fund of €35,000

Sir Bani Yas Wins 2014 edition

Sir Bani Yas Wins 2014 edition

17 April 2015, Toulouse, France ~ 10 horses go to post on Friday in the Prix Carthage – Hannibal – HH Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan  (Gr 2PA), the first leg of the European Triple Crown Series sponsored by HH Sheikh Mansoor bin Zayed Al Nahyan Global Arabian Horse Flat Racing Festival.

Entries include Al Mouwaffak (FR), the highest rated 3YO last year, unbeaten in three starts and the winner of the Qatar Total Arabian Trophy des Poulains (Gr 1PA) in Saint-Cloud and Prix Chéri Bibi (Gr 2PA) in Bordeaux; Sir Bani Yas (FR), lightly raced but nevertheless highly talented, winner of the 2014 edition of the race and then went on to win the Qatar Derby des Pur Sang Arabes de 4 ans in Chantilly, his last race to date; Djet Taouy (FR) multiple Group 1 PA winner finished fifth in Prix Haras de Gélos – Wathba Stud Farm Cup in February this year in front of Photon du Loup (FR), also entered and winner of the President of the UAE Cup – Coupe d’Europe des Chevaux Arabes (Gr 1PA) in 2014, beating Ghadanfar Al Khalidiah (KSA) and Valentin (FR) also entered.

Najlaa (FR) the only filly in the race was beaten a short head by Nahee (FR) in the Qatar Racing & Equestrian Club UK Arabian Derby (Gr 1PA) on her last outing. Wathah (GB), third here in Toulouse in Prix Warda last month finished third in the Qatar Total Arabian Trophy des Poulains (Gr 1PA) in front of Beune de l’Ardus (FR) also entered. Amaar (GB) winner of Prix Ba Toustem in 2014 completes the field.


9 horses go to post in the seventh leg of the Championship after Oman, Switzerland, Australia, Texas USA, Bahrein and Morocco. It is the 4th year France is hosting a race in the Championship Series which is going  from strength to strength and the 3rd year it is run in Toulouse.

The Ladies race has attracted nine runners going to post early in the evening at the same venue and will be contested over a mile and carries €30.000 in prize money.

Experienced Irish lady jockey Aine O’Connor, who has already tasted success in Australia two years ago, will be riding Qatar’s Forgehill Cartier and will launch her claim from stall-7. The other lady riders are: Eilidh Grant (USA), Silja Storen (Norway), Annelise King (Australia), Hana Jurankova (Austria), Nicole Schlatter (Switzerland), Alexandra Rosa (France) and Larissa Bieb (Germany) and Omani jockey Azhar Al Wardi partnering Shenjumps from stall-4.

Championship Finale in Abu Dhabi

The Championship finale will take place in Abu Dhabi on 8 November, where all the winning lady riders will be invited to take part. Swedes Josefin Landgren and Anna Pilroth, Swiss Astrid Wullschleger, English Rebecca Smith, Dane Sabina Gammelgaard, and French Justine Mercier are already assured to take part.

Two races for three-year-olds complete the card on Friday, Prix Denouste and Prix Djebella II which attracted 8 runners each.

~ end

Follow Horsereporter On Facebook