Ten Things You Should Know About the 2016 Arabian Racing Cup Darley Awards

ARCbanner12 October 2015, USA ~

1. The HH Sheikh Mansoor Bin Zayed Al Nahyan Global Arabian Flat Racing Festival Darley Awards, which come under the auspices of the Arabian Racing Cup (The Cup), is clearly recognized as the highest achievement possible for racing Arabians in the U.S.

2. The 2016 Darley Awards will be a three-day festival from 1-3 April.

3. In 2016, the honorees and guests of the 29th Darley Awards and the 5th Annual HH Sheikha Fatima bint Mubarak Darley Award will once again be treated to the red carpet at the home of the Oscars, the Dolby Theater in Hollywood, California, on 1 April.

4. The new race in honor of the Darley Awards, the HH Sheikha Fatima bint Mubarak Darley Award Stakes (PA), will run at Santa Anita Race Course on Saturday, 2 April.

5. The Stakes Race carries a total purse of $100,000 plus a $75,000 donation toward the Jockeys benevolent fund.

6. The Celebration Banquet, a black-tie affair on Sunday evening, 3 April, will once again feature the fundraising Arabian Racing Cup Stallion Auction.

7. Now in it’s 25th consecutive year, the Arabian Racing Cup Stallion Auction is a highlight of the evening.

8. Host Hotel and Banquet will be at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel, a Four Seasons Hotel.

9. The Arabian Racing Cup (The Cup) was founded in 1983 by Dr. Sam Harrison, followed four years later with the 1st Darley Awards held in 1987.

10. In 2012 the HH Sheikh Mansoor Bin Zayed Al Nahyan Global Arabian Flat Racing Festival and Arabian Racing Cup joined together to support women in racing and promote the Darley Awards on an international level.

The Arabian Racing Cup is a nonprofit corporation founded by Dr. Sam Harrison, originally chartered in 1983 and currently run by its Board of Stewards. The Cup is dedicated to the national and international promotion of breeding and racing purebred Arabian horses. The Darley Awards, the crowning jewel of the Arabian Racing Cup, were founded in 1987.

Arabian Racing Cup website: www.arabianracingcup.com